This Drakensberg, also known as ‘the dragon mountain’, is sometimes referred to by the Zulu’s as ‘the Barrier of Spears’, is where the sheer magnificent natural beauty of the area gives the human being a feeling of inner peace and tranquillity, Which stretches over 200 kilometres and forms a natural border between Kwazulu-Natal and Lesotho, The Northern and Central Drakensberg area has some of the most beautiful scenery that can be imagined. The area falls into four valleys, beginning with the Champagne Valley in the Central Berg, through the Cathedral Peak and Didima Valley, then the Royal Natal National Park and Amphitheatre Valley, and finally the Middledale Pass Valley in the Northern Berg. Each of the four valleys has its own kind of beauty and character; all have magnificent mountain views.

The KwaZulu-Natal Drakensberg area can be divided into Bergville and the Northern Drakensberg; Winterton and the Central Drakensberg; Himeville, Underberg and the Southern Drakensberg and East Griqualand and Umzimkhulu.

The Drakensberg mountain range is the second largest in Africa and is a hiker's paradise. One can also appreciate the San rock paintings, or spot rare raptors, or enjoy the views of  Champagne Valley or Cathedral Peak. One can also watch out for the 290 species of birds, 48 species of mammals, or the rare varieties of plant life found in the park. The Drakensberg ... the soul of the Zulu Kingdom.